visual inspection

Technology modules

EXCELLENCE INSIDE in the entire range of technological possibilities.

SCHÖLLY is a professional partner for OEMs when it comes to developing customized visualization systems with state-of-the-art technology and innovative product features. Production, service, and regulatory compliance are included in our package for OEM customers. With a local presence around the world, we can provide expert contacts who will support you with complex legislation and country-specific authorization requirements. If you also consider our technical capabilities, we offer a unique advantage at SCHÖLLY. While our customers bring local market knowledge, we can supply a wide range of technology and take care of the realization into marketable products.

3D-HD-Borescopes

We have successfully manufactured serial 3D borescopes for 15 years. Our systems do not cut corners when it comes to image quality and use natural, stereoscopic vision to offer key benefits to the user with regard to working intuitively in threedimensional space. As a technology leader, we work with our own video platform consisting of a camera, an borescope, and corresponding illumination. We offer devices with classic rod lenses as well as modern chip-in-tip and chip-in-scope systems, making new measuring methods possible as well as the cost-effective inspection of complex assemblies and systems whose dismantling would be very expensive.

Microlenses and Lens Assemblies

Our activities range from raw glass to the finished objective lens. In this context, we develop, manufacture, and coat lenses from 0.25 mm to 19 mm in size and assemble complex objective lenses and assemblies. When developing objective lenses, we have the ability to optically calculate and simulate them. When assembling complex objective lenses, we adjust lenses and image sensors in six axis to achieve the highest level of precision. This expertise is consolidated at SCHÖLLY MICRO OPTICS and is thus available to the entire corporate group. In our integrated manufacturing facility for lenses and objectives, we can carry out reliable feasibility studies.

2D and 3D Chip-in-Tip Systems

The latest 2D and 3D chip-in-scope (CIS) and chip-in-tip (CIT) systems make use of the increasing miniaturization of image sensors. For example, rigid CIS borescopes lend themselves well to inspecting long, straight tubes such as firearm barrels, while rigid and flexible CIT systems are suitable for inspecting complex systems such as turbines. The SCHÖLLY camera platform makes things that were previously impossible economically feasible. Combined with intelligent and affordable cables for light, communication, and data transmission, these systems represent one more benchmark for the entire industry. All the modules can also be developed and supplied as components.

Video Processing and Algorithms

SCHÖLLY’s own cameraboard platform development and the company’s close scientific relationship with industry leaders allow us to offer users and OEM partners many new options using special video algorithms.

Some of these additional features are:

  • Dynamic contrast enhancement
  • Selective video color enhancement
  • Color and shape correction
  • Selective wavelength illumination
  • UV-Vis and IR imaging
  • Image editing in HD quality
  • HDR to prevent overexposure
  • Temperature measurement
  • Dimensional measuring

 

suitable products

Modern Housing Conception

We take the rough and tumble of daily industrial operations into account when developing our housing. Consequently, maximum carrying convenience, simple transportation, and the size and weight of the devices are key prerequisites for working ergonomically. Based on the principle of “design follows function,” we develop designs that satisfy the requirements of the application situation in terms of arrangement and the choice of interfaces. After all, it is good and attractive industrial design in particular that makes work enjoyable.

Micro Borescopes starting from 0.35 mm

The increasing miniaturization of mechanical components results in higher production demands and also 100 % control. We offer micro borescopes and customized camera systems starting at a diameter of 0.35 mm for these applications. In this context, we place great importance on the devices exhibiting the best possible quality, a robust design, and ideal ergonomics. All of our borescopes are temperature-resistant up to 135 °c and are also moisture-resistant and gas-tight. Micro borescopes turn standard tools into “seeing tools.” For instance, we can produce miniature probes used to check the absence of burring in long, thin drill holes. and in antiterror measures, miniature borescopes are used to avert danger and to protect the security forces.

Fiberscopes

Our controllable, flexible, and semiflexible endoscopes stand out thanks to being incredibly ergonomic and easy to handle, as well as for their wide variety of innovative features. Working channels, light sources integrated into the hand grip, exporting video and images at the touch of a button, our patented Deep View technology, and 2D or 3D chip-in-tip systems are only a few examples. Covers made of tungsten mesh or PVC provide systems with additional protection, depending on the application. Specially mixed lighting fibers also make defined spectral applications possible using flexible endoscopes. We can also develop systems with empty channels for the introduction of sensors, actuators, tools, or suction systems.

Ergonomics

Ergonomic considerations have long been an important aspect of the working world. Simple and comfortable handling and an appealing product design not only make it easier to use the devices, but also increase the user’s feelgood factor when doing so. That’s why we actively involve users, industrial designers, and engineers in the development process. At our inhouse application center, we test rapid
prototyping design models with you, to carry out practice-based checks of the equipment’s intended handling.

Micromechanics

In the field of micromechanics, SCHÖLLY carries out nearly all production and processing steps inhouse, even when it comes to the most demanding of requirements. This means we have an outstanding position in terms of flexibility, speed, and quality. As a result, our experienced production specialists can mill, cut, weld, deform, and assemble whenever necessary. We also use every material imaginable, such as nickel titanium, ceramic, and plastics. In the case of devices with a diameter upward of 1.5 mm, the borescope tip can, upon request, be controlled using a Bowden cable.

Visualization in critical environments

We develop and manufacture special visualization solutions for internal monitoring and inspection in critical environments in accordance with our customers’ specifications. Our borescope solutions are adapted to the conditions in question, be they temperatures of up to 2,000°C, high pressure, aggressive chemical substances, or highly dusty or damp environments, and are integrated into complex systems according to the requirements. Our borescopes can also be used in radioactive environments thanks to specially designed light guides and optical systems. An air purge system makes sure that polluted ambient air does not lead to the buildup of deposits.

Multi-Optical Systems

Multiple optical systems make it possible to simultaneously inspect a number of areas within a component, thereby contributing to process efficiency. Polyp systems with up to 20 thin usually flexible or semirigid borescopes allow to view an object from various perspectives during optoelectronic inline controls. In addition, the results can be evaluated quickly and easily by attaching an image-processing system. These systems are used to inspect complex components in mass production and for safety applications.

Videoscopes

Our controllable videoscopes stand out thanks to being incredibly ergonomic and easy to use with one hand with a light source integrated into the handle, and also due to the exporting of video and images for quality documentation at the touch of a button, patented Deep View technology, and chip-in-tip 2D and 3D cameras. The use of state-of-the-art CMOS image sensors in conjunction with SCHÖLLY’s own camera platform leads to the best possible results. Suitably modified video algorithms increase inspection reliability and optimally solve inspection tasks. Our development work is driven by ever smaller diameters and ever greater image resolutions.

Mobile Solutions

SCHÖLLY is keeping pace with the trend of offering mobile solutions and offers sophisticated systems for the on-site inspection and documentation of facilities and production process components. These include lightweight, portable, and battery-operated videoscopy systems with a memory function, and also mobile light sources that can be combined with inspection light guides or standard borescopes to perform quick and cost-effective onsite checks. The array of features can also be expanded at a later date thanks to intelligent software architecture.

An Array of Probes

There are many visual inspection applications, and they are put to use in a variety of different industries and for different tasks. This is reflected in the wide array of probes that are needed, all of which are defined by different parameters. The aspects that can be tailored to specific needs include, for example, a probe’s length, its viewing direction, image angle, depth of field, and the materials used, not forgetting the design type (flexible, semiflexible, or rigid). We give consideration to this diversity in our standard program by optimally balancing availability and frequency of use.

suitable products

LED Light Sources and Fiberoptics

The development of powerful light sources and the corresponding fiberoptic cables have been one of SCHÖLLY’s core area of expertise since the company’s foundation. Lighting possibilities range from xenon to LED to laser light, regardless of whether they are built in close to the borescopes – for example, directly into the handgrip, into the camera unit, or in a separate lighting unit. Whatever the application, we can offer the right combination of fiberoptics for single or multiple wavelengths. Our own fiber applications and a wide range of products – from standard fiberoptics to complex, integrated light and data transmission cables – provide optimal lighting, even with smallest diameters.

Technologie-Module

EXCELLENCE INSIDE in der ganzen Vielfalt technischer Möglichkeiten.

SCHÖLLY ist der kompetente OEM-Partner, wenn es um die Entwicklung individueller Visualisierungssysteme mit neuesten Technologien und innovativen Produkteigenschaften geht. Produktion, Service und Regulatory-Leistungen sind Teil des Komplettpaketes für unsere OEM-Kunden. Bei komplexen Vorgaben und länderspezifischen Zulassungsbedingungen stehen wir Ihnen weltweit vor Ort in Ihrer Landessprache mit kompetenten Ansprechpartnern zur Seite. Werden unsere technischen Möglichkeiten hinzu gerechnet, bietet SCHÖLLY damit einen einzigartigen Vorteil. Unsere Kunden bringen ihre Marktkenntnis ein; wir bieten eine große Bandbreite an Technologien und kümmern uns um die Umsetzung in marktfähige Produkte.

3D-HD-Endoskopie

Bereits seit 15 Jahren fertigen wir erfolgreich seriell 3D-Endoskope. Unsere Systeme machen bei der Bildqualität keine Kompromisse und bieten durch das natürliche, stereoskopische Sehen für den Anwender wesentliche Vorteile beim intuitiven Arbeiten im Raum. Als Technologieführer arbeiten wir mit einer eigenen Videoplattform aus Kamera, Endoskop und entsprechender Beleuchtung. Geräte mit klassischen Stablinsen sind dabei genauso im Programm wie moderne Chip-in-Tip und Chip-in-Scope Systeme. Das ermöglicht neue Messmethoden und wirtschaftliche Prüfungen von komplexen Baugruppen und Anlagen, deren Demontage sehr aufwändig wäre.

Mikrolinsen und Objektivbaugruppen

Unsere Aktivitäten reichen vom Rohglas zum fertigen Objektiv. Wir entwickeln, fertigen und beschichten dabei Linsen ab 0,25 mm bis zu 19 mm und montieren komplexe Objektive und Baugruppen. Für die Entwicklung von Objektiven können wir diese optisch kalkulieren und simulieren. In der Montage von komplexen Objektiven justieren wir Linsen und Bildsensoren unter Berücksichtigung von bis zu sechs Achsen für ein Höchstmaß an Präzision. Dieses Know-how ist bei SCHÖLLY MICRO OPTICS gebündelt und steht so der gesamten Unternehmensgruppe zur Verfügung. In unserer integrierten Manufaktur für Prototypen von Linsen und Objektiven können wir zuverlässige Machbarkeitsstudien durchführen.

2D- und 3D- Chip-in-Tip Systeme

Aktuelle 2D- und 3D-Chip-in-Scope (CIS) und Chip-in-Tip (CIT) Systeme nutzen die zunehmende Miniaturisierung von Bildsensoren. So sind starre CIS-Endoskope für die Inspektion von langen, geraden Rohren wie z. B. Waffenläufen geeignet. Für die Inspektion komplexer Anlagen wie zum Beispiel Turbinen bieten sich starre oder flexible CIT-Systeme an. Durch die SCHÖLLY Kameraplattform kann dabei bislang Unmögliches wirtschaftlich realisiert werden. Kombiniert mit intelligenten und kostengünstigen Kabeln für Licht, Kommunikation und Datenübertragung sind diese Systeme einmal mehr Benchmark für die gesamte Branche. Alle Module können auch als Komponenten konzipiert und geliefert werden.

Videoverarbeitung und Algorithmen

Unsere SCHÖLLY-eigene Kameraboard-Plattformentwicklung sowie der enge wissenschaftliche Kontakt zu Branchenführern ermöglichen es uns heute, dem Anwender oder den OEM-Partnern über spezielle Videoalgorithmen viele neue Möglichkeiten anbieten zu können.

Mögliche Zusatzfunktionen sind:

  • Dynamische Kontrastanhebung
  • Selektives Video Color Enhancement
  • Farb- und Geometriekorrektur
  • Selektive Wave Length Illumination
  • UV-VIS-IR Darstellungen
  • Bildbearbeitung in HD-Qualität
  • HDR: zur Vermeidung von Überstrahlungen
  • Temperaturmessung
  • Dimensionale Messung
Passende Produkte

Moderne Gehäusekonzepte

Bei der Entwicklung unserer Gehäuse tragen wir den Anforderungen des rauen Industriealltags Rechnung. So sind optimaler Tragekomfort, einfache Transportmöglichkeiten sowie Größe und Gewicht der Geräte wichtige Voraussetzungen für ergonomisches Arbeiten. Unter dem Motto „Design follows Function“ entwickeln wir Formen die der Anwendungssituation hinsichtlich Anordnung und Auswahl der Schnittstellen gerecht werden. Nicht zuletzt vermittelt gutes, formschönes Industriedesign auch Freude an der Arbeit.

Mikro-Endoskopie ab 0,35 mm

Die zunehmende Miniaturisierung mechanischer Komponenten führt zu erhöhten Anforderungen in der Produktion und zu einer 100 % Kontrolle. Für diese Anwendungen bieten wir Mikro-Endoskope und abgestimmte Kamerasysteme ab 0,35 mm Durchmesser. Dabei legen wir bei der Entwicklung besonderen Wert auf bestmögliche Bildqualität, robuste Bauweise und die optimale Ergonomie der Geräte. Alle Endoskope sind temperaturbeständig bis 135 °C, feuchtigkeits- und gasdicht. Werkzeuge werden durch Mikroendoskope zu „sehenden Werkzeugen“. So sind zum Beispiel kleinste Sonden zur Prüfung von Gradfreiheit langer dünner Bohrungen möglich. Bei Antiterrormaßnahmen helfen Miniaturendoskope zur Gefahrenabwehr und dienen dem Schutz der Einsatzkräfte.

Flexible Endoskope

Unsere steuerbaren, flexiblen und semiflexiblen Endoskope zeichnen sich durch einfachste ergonomische Einhandbedienung und vielfältige innovative Funktionen aus. Arbeitskanäle, im Handgriff integrierte Lichtquellen, Video- und Bildexport auf Tastendruck, die patentierte Deep View Technologie oder 2D- bzw. 3D-Chip-in-Tip Systeme sind nur einige davon. Schutzmäntel aus Wolframgeflecht oder PVC-Überzüge schützen die Systeme je nach Anwendung zusätzlich. Speziell gemischte Beleuchtungsfasern ermöglichen zudem bei flexiblen Endoskopen definierte Spektralanwendungen. Möglich sind auch Systeme mit Leerkanälen für Sensorik, Aktoren, Werkzeuge oder Absaugungen.

Ergonomie

Ergonomische Aspekte haben schon lange in die Arbeitswelt Einzug gehalten. Eine einfache und bequeme Handhabung und ein ansprechendes Produktdesign erleichtern nicht nur den Umgang mit den Geräten, sondern erhöhen auch den Wohlfühlfaktor des Anwenders. Wir beziehen daher Anwender, Industrie-Designer und Ingenieure aktiv in den Entwicklungsprozess mit ein. In unserem Inhouse-Anwendungscenter testen wir zusammen mit Ihnen Rapid-Prototyping-Design-Modelle zur praktischen Überprüfung der geplanten Handhabung.

Mikromechanik

SCHÖLLY hält im Bereich der Mikromechanik auch für höchste Anforderungen nahezu alle Be- und Verarbeitungsschritte im eigenen Hause vor. So sind wir in Sachen Flexibilität, Schnelligkeit und Qualität immer bestens aufgestellt. Falls nötig können unsere erfahrenen Spezialisten im Mikrobereich fräsen, schneiden, schweißen, löten, verformen und montieren. Wir verarbeiten dabei alle erdenklichen Materialien wie zum Beispiel Nickeltitan, Keramik oder Kunststoffe. Ab einem Gerätedurchmesser von 1,5 mm lassen sich die Endoskopspitzen auf Wunsch per Bowdenzug steuern. Ein eigener Vorrichtungsbau auch für die Justage kleinster Optiken rundet das Leistungsportfolio ab.

Visualisierung in kritischer Umgebung

Für die innere Überwachung und Prüfung in kritischen Umgebungsbedingungen entwickeln und fertigen wir spezielle Visualisierungslösungen nach den Vorgaben unserer Kunden. Egal ob Temperaturen bis 2.000 °C, hohe Drücke, aggressive chemische Stoffe oder extreme Staub- oder Feuchtigkeitsbelastungen, unsere Endoskoplösungen werden den vorherrschenden Gegebenheiten angepasst und je nach Anforderung in komplexe Anlagen integriert. Speziell ausgelegte Lichtleiter und Optiken machen den Einsatz in radioaktiver Umgebung möglich. Eine Freiblaseinrichtung vermeidet Ablagerungen durch verschmutzte Umgebungsluft.

Mehrfachoptiken und Polypsysteme

Mehrfachoptiken ermöglichen die gleichzeitige Inspektion mehrerer Problemstellen in einem Bauteil und unterstützen so effiziente Prozesse. Polypsysteme mit bis zu 20 dünnen, zumeist flexiblen oder halbstarren Endoskopen eröffnen im Rahmen optoelektronischer Inline-Kontrollen den Blick auf ein Objekt aus unterschiedlichen Richtungen. Die Anbindung an ein Bildverarbeitungssystem ermöglicht zudem eine schnelle und einfache Auswertung der Ergebnisse. Anwendung finden diese Systeme bei der Prüfung komplexer Bauteile in der Massenproduktion oder bei Sicherheitsanwendungen.

Videoskope

Unsere steuerbaren Videoskope zeichnen sich durch einfachste ergonomische Einhandbedienung mit im Handgriff integrierter Lichtquelle, Video- und Bildexport für Qualitätsdokumentation auf Tastendruck, patentierte Deep View Technologie sowie Chip-in-Tip 2D-und 3D-Kameras aus. Der Einsatz modernster CMOS-Bildsensoren in Verbindung mit der SCHÖLLY-eigenen Kameraplattform führt zu optimalen Ergebnissen. Angepasste Videoalgorithmen erleichtern die Prüfsicherheit und lösen Inspektionsaufgaben optimal. Immer kleinere Durchmesser und höhere Bildauflösungen sind Themen, die unsere Entwicklungen vorantreiben.

Mobile Lösung

SCHÖLLY trägt dem Trend zu mobilen Lösungen Rechnung und liefert durchdachte Systeme zur Inspektion und Dokumentation von Anlagen vor Ort oder Bauteilen im Produktionsprozess. Dazu gehören leichte, tragbare und batteriebetriebene Videoskopiesysteme mit Speicherfunktion. oder mobile Lichtquellen, die in Kombination mit Inspektionslichtleitern oder standard Endoskopen zur raschen und kostengünstigen Prüfung vor Ort eingesetzt werden. Eine intelligente Softwarearchitektur ermöglicht eine spätere Erweiterung des Funktionsumfanges.

Sondenvielfalt

Anwendungen für visuelle Inspektionen sind vielfältig und in unterschiedlichen Branchen und Aufgabenstellungen zu finden. Das schlägt sich in der Vielzahl notwendiger Sonden nieder, die durch unterschiedliche Parameter definiert werden. So sind Länge, Blickrichtung, Bildwinkel, Schärfentiefenbereich und Materialbeschaffenheit sowie die Bauweise (flexibel, semiflexibel oder starr) Eigenschaften, die individuell bestimmt werden können. In unserem Standardprogramm werden wir dieser Vielfalt mit einer optimalen Abstimmung von Verfügbarkeit und Anwendungshäufigkeit gerecht.

Passende Produkte

LED-Lichtquellen und Faseroptik

Die Entwicklung leistungsfähiger Lichtquellen und der dazugehörigen Lichtleiter ist seit jeher eine Kernkompetenz von SCHÖLLY. Möglichkeiten bei der Beleuchtung reichen von Xenon über LED bis hin zu Laser-Licht, egal ob endoskopnah verbaut zum Beispiel direkt im Handgriff, in der Kameraeinheit oder in einer separaten Lichteinheit. Wir können für jede Anwendung die richtige Mischung von optischen Glasfasern für einzelne oder mehrere Wellenlängen anbieten. Eigene Faserapplikationen und ein breites Produktprogramm von Standard Lichtleitern bis hin zu komplexen, integrierten Licht- und Datenübertragungskabeln sorgen für eine optimale Verbindung auch bei kleinsten Durchmessern.